experience the history during a guided tour by Dr. Wolfgang Wehr (Wespenstein castle foundation).
... or see the museum Georgstift in Gräfenthal city, which is open every Saturday and Sunday from 2:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. and have a look
at a model, old documents of the history of Gräfenthal.
approx. build as a tollhouse
1337 mentioned as „Hus Grevental” for the first time in a historical charterto
1425 residence of the earls of Orlamünde (Otto XI in 1414-1424)
1438 residence of the earl Conrad von Pappenheim
View in 1518
1517-1541 Conversion to a representative castle by Sebastian von Pappenheim
1530 Martin Luther and the saxonian elector are guests
1547 Emperor Karl V. and duke Alba are guests
1571 errection of the helical tower „Wendelstein“
1599 the last earl of Pappenheim - Christoff Ullrich - died
1621 residence of the dukes of Saxonia-Altenburg and a bailiff
View in 1672
1679 ownership of the dukes of Saxonia-Gotha
1680 ownership of the dukes of Saxonia-Saalfeld and Coburg-Saalfeld
1686 the castle burnt down to a large extent and was only partly re-erected
1826 residence of a district court of the dukes of Saxonia-Meiningen
1826-1829 the castle obtains its last building extension
1920 ownership of the state of Thüringen
1990 ownership of the German state
1993 privately owned (Mr. Kenyeres)
2001 privately owned (sale by court order, Mr. Laass)
2002 privately owned (auction sale, Dr. Wehr and wife)
2005 privately owned (sale, Dr. Wehr)
2007 Schloß Wespenstein trust
Source for data til 1993: Henry Bechtoldt – Chronik von Schloß Wespenstein. Gräfenthal, 2001.
Am Schloßberg 1
Rufen Sie uns an:
0176 9653 2338
oder schreiben Sie uns:
Endlich ist es soweit:
Nach über 70 Jahren braut Gräfenthal wieder sein eigenes Bier.
Weitere Infos unter "Events".